Watchmaker profile

Louis-Paul Brandt

Louis-Paul Brandt, with his brother César, led the industrial development associated with the 19-ligne OMEGA calibre introduced in 1894. 2

Life years now recorded from the curator's history; this is not a civil-register check.

At a glance

Dates
1854–1903 33Life years from Marco Richon's museum-history account; day/month dates not adopted.

The watchmaking story

A useful place to start with Louis-Paul Brandt's work is 19-ligne OMEGA calibre manufacturing programme (1894). 2

Louis-Paul Brandt worked for or held a role at Louis Brandt & Frère. 1234

Louis-Paul Brandt designed, developed or supplied work for Omega. 1234

Scope: Direct watchmaking

Why this person is included

Documented original work

Background and working context

Affiliations and workshops: Louis Brandt & Frère; Omega 2

Geographic ties: Switzerland. Documented workplace / industry location

Brands, workshops, and other relationships

  1. Watch brand / watchmaking business · Inherited source-linked record; relationship classification reviewed, sources not reopened

    Louis Brandt & Frère — Worked for / held role. Industrial development with César Brandt 1234

    Legacy affiliation: Louis Brandt & Frère; Omega. Person-level contribution: With his brother César, led the industrial development associated with the 19-ligne OMEGA calibre introduced in 1894.

    Original affiliation wording: Louis Brandt & Frère; Omega. No present-day employment or ownership inferred.

  2. Watch brand / watchmaking business · Inherited source-linked record; relationship classification reviewed, sources not reopened

    Omega — Designed / developed / supplied for. 19-ligne OMEGA calibre introduced in 1894; team credit 1234

    Legacy affiliation: Louis Brandt & Frère; Omega. Person-level contribution: With his brother César, led the industrial development associated with the 19-ligne OMEGA calibre introduced in 1894.

    Original affiliation wording: Louis Brandt & Frère; Omega. No present-day employment or ownership inferred.

Evidence and limitations

This dossier connects 5 field-specific evidence records with 4 public sources. Known links only; full career not established

Claim qualifications (2)
  • Birth year: Year-level biographical support; individual movement invention is not established by this source. 3
  • Death year: Year-level biographical support; individual movement invention is not established by this source. 3

Sources

  1. Omega SA — HistoryWikipedia · Encyclopedia / tertiary · Not stated

    [S0136] Wikipedia. "Omega SA — History." Not stated. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omega_SA Accessed 2026-09-13.

    Source context

    Relationship to subject: Tertiary compilation

    How it was checked: Page opened; relevant text read

  2. Celebrating 125 years of The OMEGA NameSwatch Group · First-party / official · 2019

    [S0166] Swatch Group. "Celebrating 125 years of The OMEGA Name." 2019. https://www.swatchgroup.com/en/services/archive/2019/celebrating-125-years-omega-name Accessed 2026-09-13.

    Source context

    Relationship to subject: House or maker associated with subject

    How it was checked: Page opened; relevant text read

    Limitation: Corporate retrospective. Joint industrial leadership is distinguished from personally inventing every component.

  3. Historique du Musée OmegaMarco Richon · SAMO — Société des Amis du Musée / de la Marque Omega · Museum-history account · Original text 2013; later page amendments not comprehensively dated

    [S0246] Marco Richon. SAMO — Société des Amis du Musée / de la Marque Omega. "Historique du Musée Omega." Original text 2013; later page amendments not comprehensively dated. https://www.samo-bienne.ch/index.php/samo/historique-du-musee-omega Accessed 2026-09-13.

    Source context

    Relationship to subject: Former curator's account, hosted by museum/brand friends association

    How it was checked: Web page opened; relevant text inspected

    Limitation: Footnote supplies Brandt family life years and joint relocation to Bienne. Promotional world-first claims are excluded; historical office-holder descriptions are not treated as current.

  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omega_SA https://www.swatchgroup.com/en/services/archive/2019/celebrating-125-years-omega-name https://www.samo-bienne.ch/index.php/samo/historique-du-musee-omegalinked source

Corrections and stronger evidence

Names, dates, and workshop relationships can change as archives are digitised. If you have a primary source that clarifies this record, use the correction process.

Submit supporting evidence